top of page

The Fifty Gates of Understanding

The 50 gates are really 49 days or 7 weeks of self-elevation and self-evaluation (followed by one day of prophetic revelation), that the Israelites strived for from the time of the Exodus from Egypt until the time they received the Ten Commandments at Mt. Sinai.

Being worthy of receiving prophecy requires character improvement. There are 49 aspects of character that the Israelites worked on developing while they wandered in the desert of Sinai. The counting is done backward from the highest level to the lowest since prophecy is energy transferred from God to man:

1. Hesed in Hesed - study

2. Gevurah in Hesed - attentive listening

3. Tiferets in Hesed - orderly speech

4. Netzah in Hesed - understanding

5. Hod in Hesed - intuitive insight

6. Yesod in Hesed - awe

7. Malchuts in Hesed - reverence

8. Hesed in Gevurah - humility

9. Gevurah in Gevurah - joy

10. Tiferets in Gevurah – purity

11. Netzah in Gevurah - attendance on scholars

12. Hod in Gevurah - debate with colleagues

13. Yesod in Gevurah - discussion with students

14. Malchuts in Gevurah - deliberation

15. Hesed in Tiferet - knowledge of the scriptures

16. Gevurah in Tiferet - moderation in business affairs

17. Tiferets in Tiferet - moderation in worldly affairs

18. Netzah in Tiferet - moderation in pleasure

19. Hod in Tiferet - moderation in sleep

20. Yesod in Tiferet - moderation in conversation

21. Malchuts in Tiferet - moderation in frivolity

22. Hesed in Netzah - patience

23. Gevurah in Netzah - good naturedness

24. Tiferets in Netzah - trust in the sages

25. Netzah in Netzah - uncomplaining acceptance of suffering

26. Hod in Netzah - knows his place

27. Yesod in Netzah - is content with his lot in life

28. Malchuts in Netzah - limits his words

29. Hesed in Hod - does not claim credit for his achievements

30. Gevurah in Hod - is beloved

31. Tiferets in Hod - loves God

32. Netzah in Hod - loves mankind

33. Hod in Hod - loves acts of charity and kindness

34. Yesod in Hod - loves straightforwardness

35. Malchuts in Hod - loves admonition

36. Hesed in Yesod - shuns honor

37. Gevurah in Yesod - is not conceited with his learning

38. Tiferets in Yesod - does not delight in dictating decisions

39. Netzah in Yesod - shares the burden of his fellow man

40. Hod in Yesod - and judges him favorably

41. Yesod in Yesod - directs him to the truth

42. Malchuts in Yesod - and to peace

43. Hesed in Malchut - is composed in his learning

44. Gevurah in Malchut - asks pertinent questions and answers to the point

45. Tiferets in Malchut - listens and adds to his learning

46. Netzah in Malchut - studies in order to teach

47. Hod in Malchut - studies in order to practice

48. Yesod in Malchut - increases the wisdom of his teacher

49. Malchuts in Malchut - Notes accurately what he has learned

50. Shavuot - Quotes a thing in the name of the person who said it

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page